Time for a Workout

Have you seen the new Shaun T workout, Insanity Max 30?  Check it out on beachbody.com.

I love me some Shaun T but I won’t be buying this one…just yet.

If you’ve ever read my blog you know that I don’t go to a gym.  I’m an avid home exerciser and over the years I’ve compiled a vast library of workout videos (started back with the original Buns of Steel…oh yeah. That guy is awesome).  I almost cried when collagevideo.com closed!

I’m one of those people who happily discovered the compact workout craze.  My days are crazy busy and busier all the time but I. Have. To. Exercise.  I can’t function properly without a workout.  I was thrilled to discover the market flooded over the last few years with shorter, uber intense (and fun!)  workout choices that gave me the same sense of accomplishment.  I continued to workout daily mostly using videos that were 30-45 minutes long.  But about a year ago I realized I’d started to gain weight (insert blob music).

About 10 months ago I decided for the first time in my life I was going to actually diet.  I downloaded fitness pal, bought a heart rate monitor and changed up my workouts to at least an hour.  I broke up with Shaun T, Tony Horton and Chalean (I should have stock in beachbody) and started going steady with Cathe Friedrich.  Cathe is an intense mix of the other three but her workouts tend to be longer (although she does have shorter ones as well).

It took a while but I lost 15 lbs.  If you have a heart rate monitor you’ll quickly realize that no matter how intense you workout for 25 or 30 minutes, you can’t burn as many calories as you do in an hour.  Now, I’m not talking to people that went from NEVER excercising to doing a 30 minute workout and lost a ton of weight (duh, of course you did!  Bravo, btw).  I’ve worked out obsessively for a looooonnnnggg time (decades, people) and I realized that 30 minutes may not be long enough (for me).

So, my current workout routine is a minimum of 55 minutes (with an emphasis most days on cardio to get the calorie burn I’m looking for).  Because of my new norm I’d have to do more than one of Shaun T’s workouts at a time and I don’t know about you but once I hear the cool down/stretch music I find it very hard to talk myself into another workout.

I don’t doubt the pendulum will eventually swing back to some shorter workouts mixed in during the week (welcome back Shaun T) but I’m not there yet.

What about you?  Long or short workout sessions?

Find what works for you and DO IT!

Happy Exercising:-)

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

