Taxes (and some other sad things)

Taxes make me sad.  I’ve been staring at the stack of papers in front of me all day and thinking…what else can I do besides my taxes?  It turns out–A LOT!  (write, exercise, clean the toilets, iron, shave, watch reruns of Will and Grace…so many, many things)

Have you ever looked at Instagram and thought…how does a photographer stay in business anymore?  I have.  Similarly, I have gone to amazon and looked at the endless number of novels and thought…I must be crazy.

As I mentioned in a prior post, I have begun the query process for my third novel.  I’ve sent about 25 queries now and received 8 form rejections.  Setting yourself up for rejection is not an easy thing to do.  While editing my novel I read through all 62,000 words at least 50 times, and the first 3 chapters at least 200 more.  Doubt began to set in at that time: Your writing is dull.  No one but you could find this story interesting.  You will never understand how to show and not tell, why do you try?  Agents everywhere will laugh at you.  You will find chapter one of your novel on an agents blog under, ‘How to NOT write a novel’.   Why didn’t you just stick with dystopian?

The doubt grows with each rejection.  The Type A in me will send out queries to all the agents on my list before I can really move on.  But after I hit the ‘send’ of my baby into the last cyber slushpile,  I’ll find closure to start my next novel.  Which, by the way, I’ve already outlined.

A random thought…’Naked and Afraid’, what the hell?

A sad event occurred last week, collage video, my favorite online exercise video retailer, has gone out of business:(  While I should clearly have stock in beachbody.com, my new favorite exercise video retailer is http://www.cathe.com.  Check her out.  She’s hardcore.

Back to taxes (by April 15), writing and exercise (always):)

 

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

