Things I Love

What are you passionate about?  What makes you really happy?  What makes you laugh?  Cry?

If a reader doesn’t have a strong emotional connection with your novel (preferably early on) then you’ve probably lost them.

The emotional response doesn’t have to be with the protagonist.  It might be with a secondary character, the setting, or the plot that makes your reader care about what happens next but the reader needs to feel something to want to keep reading.

I find that reflecting on what elicits strong emotional responses in myself is a good reminder of some of the emotions that I’m seeking to tap in to in my readers.

Here’s a brief list of a few things (in no particular order) that I’m emotional about :

1)Family

2)My Beliefs

3)Writing

4)Exercise

5)Chocolate

6)Book stores

7)Hardware stores

8)Cheese

9)Ice Cream

10)Friends that make you laugh so hard you risk peeing in your pants (thank you, Michelle!)

This list focuses on things that I have a positive response about (Alas, I’d be much thinner if cheese made me sad…) but you could just as easily create a list of things that make you angry, sad, or afraid.  Consider why each thing makes you feel a certain way.  (Notice my ‘regular’ job didn’t make this list…hmmm…).

Take a moment to think about the things that you’re passionate about in your every day life.  Then apply some emotion to your writing.

Happy Noveling!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

