The Ending

I just finished reading Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma.  I could not put it down!  What an awesome book!  Read it!!

It made me wonder about book endings.  I’ve had many conversations about this over the years with other avid readers/writers.  There is the popular notion that some books just ‘have to end’ a certain way, also known as the ‘downer’ ending in my opinion.  I just don’t buy it all the time.  I understand that certain stories and characters must stay ‘true’ and that means that sometimes there MUST be a ‘Debbie Downer’ ending but I have this thing about sad endings…I HATE THEM!!!

My question is this.  As a writer, are you ok with a sad ending?  Keep in mind that I write young adult fiction….

Sad endings can be very powerful…

What do you think?  Is a sad ending sometimes necessary?  Does it give you pause to think that a reader may be crying (out of sadness) when they close your book?

Think about it and KEEP ON WRITING!!!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

