Sexy writers and CP’s…

Do you ever wonder when the day will come when you see a writer endorsing makeup or a line of clothing?

I realize that there are many, MANY authors out there who are not hotties but there are also many that could pull it off.  I’d love to see Loreal sign a famous author to endorse their lipstick and give the author’s name and last book deal in the fine print of the ad.  I mean, how many times have you seen an ad and thought, who the hell is that?  Then you read the fine print and find out that they’re an actress/actor.  Why not put a writer in that ad?

I just wish that someone would attempt to glamorize writing.  Just a little bit.  How nice would it be to have hundreds of teenagers want to grow up and be writers (so that they, too, could be in a Cover Girl commercial)….?  Hmmm…I don’t know, maybe it’s too much of a stretch but I think it would be good for the business of writing if there were a few ‘faces’ out there that people could relate to when they thought about authors.

Or do you feel that those kinds of endorsements have no place in this business?  Do you think if you saw a handsome guy in a jeans ad, only to discover he’s not a famous actor but a writer, it would diminish the field in some way?

Would writing seem less respectable somehow because you accidentally thought an author was sexy?  I don’t know.  I’m thinking some hottie in the business might not be so bad….maybe if writing seemed glamorous and sexy it would make reading a little bit more popular than playing a video game (maybe).  What do you think?

Ok, down to business.  Are you looking for one (or another) critique partner/critique group?  A good CP is as valuable as a good pair of running shoes.  A must have to finish the race!  Check out this website for some help

http://www.critique.org/

Happy Writing!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

