The Road Runner’s Victim

You remember in those old Bugs Bunny cartoons where the Road Runner always managed to lure Wile E. Coyote off of a cliff where he would fall 20 stories only to survive (despite being a temporarily mangled pancake) and have a giant boulder fall on him, which he would successfully roll off of his only-slightly concussed head (how did we find this funny?) to get hit by some sort of dynamite that he had previously rigged up to disable his nemesis, the Road Runner? 

Ok, I have a point, I promise.  The repetitive  destruction of poor ol’ Wile E. Coyote brings my latest project to mind.  I sometimes feel that my novel has taken so much abuse since its first completion that it has no chance of survival.  It has plunged off a cliff (the first pile of rejections), only to be hit by a boulder (the 100th revision and second set of rejections), and then the dynamite (poor Novel, you just aren’t good enough yet, one more round of revisions). 

My story is like the coyote, though.  It hasn’t given up yet (but maybe it should).  As long as I believe in my story I’ll keep revising and polishing…and working on my next story (after all, the coyote seems kind of naive after a while).

Keep on writing!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

