Career or hobby?

It’s been a very frustrating month trying to find the time to sit down and write.  Since I haven’t published a novel (yet) writing is still a hobby.  As we all know, hobbies come after the priorities in life.  Even worse, now that I’ve decided to try to sell my home, just cleaning the house has become more of a priority than writing.  How sad.  How depressing.

While I understand the importance of persistence in this dream of publication, I can’t help but feel animosity to the lucky few that are able to tell their spouse, ‘I’m going to the library for a few hours to write, you watch the kids’, or ‘Honey, I really think we need to hire someone to clean the house so that I can use those extra hours every week to write’.  Maybe these lines would work if we had one child but somehow it’s no longer fair when there are 5 children and a limited budget to consider.     

But, alas,  if my ‘hobby’ was a source of income…I can’t help but think things would be different.  Suddenly my writing time could be referred to as ‘work’, which we can all agree is an acceptable priority before cleaning, neighborhood HOA meetings, going to get the oil changed, or ironing. 

What about you?  Are you satisfied with writing as a hobby?  Or do you dream of publication?  You can’t have it both ways.  Either way, smile, and keep on writing!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

