Painful Realities

An extra-large thigh day, the Athleta ‘Spring Preview’ issue which features bathing suits and the horrible reminder of how close swimsuit-season is, and yet another day that I will struggle as a writer, a painful trifecta that jump-started my Monday. 

Why is it that I cannot feel comfortable in writing as just a hobby?  Why do I feel that I need recognition in the form of a paycheck, however small?  (Actually publication, paycheck or not, would be incredibly fulfilling).  The problem with this longing is that writing could eventually become a source of resentment, a reminder of something that I want desperately to find success in, and yet cannot. 

How do I combat this feeling of impending failure?  Honestly, I don’t know.  I still get excited when I sit down to write.  I think that’s a good sign.  I can’t foresee a day when I won’t look forward to this time, yet, I’m scared that day will come.

Ok, on a completely different subject, what in the world was TLC thinking when they decided ‘My Strange Addiction’ was a good idea?  Why? 

What do you do to combat the ‘writer’s blues’?  Do successful novelists suffer from this condition?  I’m sure they would say that they suffer from some kind of writer’s condition involving mental blocks and not enough time to write because of all of the book-signings and such but it cannot compare to this.  I do hope that every author can remember a time when recognition as a writer was a light so far away that there were days when you’d swear the light had been extinguished while you weren’t looking.

I’ve used this blog to encourage writers to keep going.  Don’t give up.  Bambelela!  Those are mantras to myself as much as to you, the writers out there who persevere.  I’m glad I’m not alone and I wish you success.

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

