A Mother’s Day

From the cozy warmth of my bed this morning I heard two small voices, “You better get a towel, ooh you’re in trouble,” followed by, “It’s your fault”.  Oh, the joy of another Mother’s Day.  To those that advise me, ‘Have a day to yourself, the laundry and dishes will still be there tomorrow,’ I know you mean well but not only will the laundry and dishes be there tomorrow there will be a LOT more of them.   Maybe I’ll just cook the meal I want for dinner tonight rather than avoid housework.

I think I strive to accomplish the same things in my writing as I do in parenting–to do my best and make a positive, lasting impression.  Despite the fact that I remain unpublished, I sometimes feel more successful as a writer than a parent.  Unfortunately, I fell out of contention as ‘Mother of the Year’ (last May) when the 14-year-old said, ‘maybe if you wouldn’t use that language then I wouldn’t either’ and on the (one of many) occasions I redirected the 7-year-old to hour 2 of a video game so that I could watch Project Runway.  However, I’m not out of the running to be nominated for a writing award just yet…but I’m getting ahead of myself, maybe I should (continue) work on becoming a published author first. 

Happy Mother’s Day to those of you still in the running for Mother of the Year.  I’m already working on next year.

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

