One Race Down…

I did it!  I’ve put one more 13.1 mile ‘race’ behind me and with my best time yet!  I can’t say I’ll miss running anytime soon but all of the work did pay off.  Now that I’ve enjoyed my post-race reward (as much chocolate-chip ice cream as I could eat in one sitting) I’m ready to get back on schedule, writing schedule that is.

I’ve started to wonder if I’ll feel the same exuberance from finishing this novel a second time as I did when I thought I had finished it several months ago.  You may recall I completed my first young adult novel several months ago only to receive the critiques I had been waiting for on said novel (a mixed blessing, of course) which were chock full of valuable suggestions (naturally) some of which I decided to implement. 

While all writers are used to the perpetual editing cycle, I have to say I’ve felt outside of the traditional editing ‘box’ now that I’ve almost doubled the length of my original work.  My general perception of editing involves more removing, chopping, and thinning of content rather the generous plumping I’ve done by adding an entire subplot. 

Nevertheless, I’m very excited with what will soon be the completion of the second edition of my first young adult novel.

I have found that the rewards I reap from any task are in proportion to the efforts I’ve put into it.  With that in mind, the unbelievable gratification I experienced after completing a 1/2 marathon this weekend is but a molehill next to the mountain of fulfillment I’ve experienced in completing a novel.  Nothing I have ever done compares, or even comes close (although raising 4 kids by myself can be shelved in a league of its own), to the work and dedication necessary to complete a novel. 

Is a novel really just words arranged in a magical way??  Yes!  And so much more…

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

