Reasons to Celebrate

So, as I mentioned in a previous blog post, I received a critique of my young adult fiction book which made some interesting suggestions.  While I won’t implement all of the changes that were suggested the critique definitely made me see things in my story that I hadn’t seen before.  (It’s so hard to read your own work with different eyes, isn’t it?  It really takes someone else to show you how.) 

One of the more valuable pieces of advice was the idea of a subplot that I’ve chosen to work into my story.  It’s meant the reshaping, rewriting, reworking, reliving of every chapter of my story but alas, it has added 10k words to my story (so far) which up til now only qualified as a (long) short story.  

It’s exciting to watch my story develop into the novel that it is in my head.  Every 10,000 words is a reason to celebrate.  I look forward to the day that I’ve grown so much as a writer that celebration is only called for when I finish a novel.   For now it’s the smallest milestones that I commend myself for.

Reason #2 to celebrate, the 1/2 marathon is in 3 weeks!  I ran 10 miles this weekend!  Like writing, I take training for this race one day at a time.  Unlike writing, I do not look forward to running anymore, it’s become a psychological struggle to continue to train when I’d much rather lift weights (who ever thought I’d miss p90x?) or do aerobics (I miss you, too, Shaun T/Insanity!)  I can’t wait to get this race run so I can move on to something else but the mental rewards of crossing the finish line will be worth it!!

If your thing is writing or running (or both), hang in there!  Challenge yourself every day to do something hard!  It will pay off.

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

