Perpetual editing

I’ve been making the changes to the subplot in my young adult fiction novel.  It’s quickly become the snowball I expected and I’m getting more frustrated by the day.  So far, I’ve rewritten the first 25% of the novel and created my 3rd timeline.  As any writer of a fiction novel can relate to, the smallest change to your story creates a domino effect that has required me to return to the beginning and check for the smallest details that may now conflict with the story. 

When will it end?  Some days I worry that this novel has become a perpetual ‘unfinished project’ like my garage and upstairs bathroom.  Is this a normal part of the writing process?  I already feel that my next novel will start off much closer to the finished product than this novel could ever have hoped to be but I’m starting to worry that I’ve OVER edited this one.  Is this possible??    

I’m determined to have the entire novel re-edited before the end of April and beginning of summer.  I’ve given myself a goal to begin sending out queries by May (before the kids are out of school).  I hope setting a personal goal for completion was the right thing to do.  Being unpublished makes one second-guess every move… 

Good grief, writing is hard work….but so worth it.

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

