Contest News!!

Since getting back my critiques from a contest I entered I have been depressed.   I didn’t think I scored well.   I’ve been telling myself that a 78 out of a possible 100 could have been worse but I had no real perspective…until now! 

Today while digesting my own scores and deciding which suggested changes I was going to implement I received some inspiring news.  A fellow writer and mentor is a finalist in the same contest!  Her entry was in a different category than my own but her overall score was only 11 points higher. 

I’ve chosen to look at this as good news.  While that means I need to improve by a point in at least 11 areas…it means I only need to improve a point in 11 areas.  And for me personally it means I need to revise/rehash/rethink/redo my summary because that was where I took a beating.

As an aspiring writer I need constant inspiration and motivation to keep going and today I was inspired.  I hope she wins and has her novel published.  I will be the first in line to buy her book!

Fellow authors, don’t give up!  Find inspiration.  We all need it.  Keep on keeping on.  The rewards will come….someday.

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

