To Write or Not to Write

The consensus says that the most important thing to do when you’re still a virgin (unpublished) writer is to simply write.  No matter what you write about the imperative thing is to condition yourself to put words on paper (a computer) on a consistent basis.  While I recognize why this is great advice I have trouble implementing it.  The biggest writing hurdle for me is not finding the words I want to write but finding the time to do it.  While I could write in 30 minute increments almost daily that in no way equals the quality or quantity of writing that I can do in 3 consecutive hours. 

Good advice I’ve come across is to use the smaller increments of time to focus on researching agents or publishing houses, working on the outline for another book, polishing your query letter, etc. which works out to be a great way to still make those 30 minutes productive.  Of course the frustrating part is that I often go weeks where those 30 minute windows are all that I’ve had and I can polish a query letter to death but without a polished story to submit it’s all in vain.  Perhaps in time I can learn to crank out 1000s of valuable words in those short intervals and still manage to string it all together into a plausible, engaging story rather than spurts of great ideas strung together when time permitted. 

Wish me luck!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

