Meeting the Challenge

I’m training to run a 1/2 marathon in April and it occurred to me today on mile 3 that I hate running.  Boy do I hate running! But I love a challenge.  The challenge of getting through 12 weeks of training for race after race (although I wouldn’t call it a race when my goal is merely to finish in the upright position) is what keeps me signing up.  The psychological mountain I have to scale to get through the training and race day is immense which makes the mental (and physical) rewards that much more fulfilling.

 It occurred to me that that’s also why I continue to write year after year.  It’s the challenge of finding the time and energy to complete a story that is a part of me that keeps me going.  The accomplishment of completing something that takes so much time management and consistent dedication in my life (being a single parent of 4) results in a giant mental pat on the back with each story I complete.  Lord knows I wish I could say that it was the financial and social rewards that keep me doing this but I’ve never experienced either of those for my writing so it wouldn’t be true.  (Maybe someday I’ll find out and I’ll let you know).  Of course there is a catch 22.  Because of the dedication and committment involved in writing it becomes that much more frustrating to continue to be unrecognized (unpublished) after devoting so much of myself to something that I’m so thoroughly passionate about….

Ok, so I know ‘Blogging 101 For Writers: Rule 2,’  was not to get off on a tangent about things that have nothing to do with your story or writing (this followed Rule 1, ‘Don’t talk about what you ate for breakfast, your last bowel movement or lack thereof, your teenagers ability to appear mature one moment but morph into a toddler-like mindset at a moments notice…’, another words save your personal life for your other blog).  That being said this will (probably) be my last purge of random information with no real purpose other than to get something off my chest.

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

