The Healthy Writer

Fellow writers I don’t know what gets blood flowing into your creative neurons but I’ve found that a good workout can clear my mind.  The storyline and characters for many of my stories (picture books and young adult fiction) have come to me while I was lifting weights or on the treadmill.  The interesting part is that my thoughts are most focused when I’m well into a workout.  At the pinnacle of fat bouncing through a step workout, or sudden bilateral knee pain on mile 4 of 5 I’m hit with endorphins that express themselves in productive ways.  Just yesterday when I came to the part of P90X when I must curse loudly to complete another rep I worked out the subplot for my next young adult novel.  So, the next time you think about skipping a workout think about the rewards, physical and mental, and go for it!

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

