Word count

My finished work of fiction is short on words….apparently a rare problem.  A quick internet search shows that too many words is a much more popular problem when writing fiction.  I’ve focused the last many years on writing picture books and have created a habit of writing and writing and then deleting, deleting, deleting…of course with a picture book you have the illustrations say volumes for you so now I get to add back the meat of the story that I no longer need to omit…I know it may seem that there’s no way to compare a picture book of 800 words or so to a novel of almost 50K words but they’re both stories just told in different formats with different audiences.  So they are different but they aren’t…

Off to write!  I feel inspired!  Too bad the army of children that I have been blessed with are out of school today.  I, for one, am sick of snow..

About One Strong Southern Girl

I write fitness tips and reviews on exercise videos. I also write young adult fiction. I love tattoos and books. I exercise...a lot. I'm a parent, wife, sister, daughter, and friend. View all posts by One Strong Southern Girl

Leave a Reply

